Since April 2017, the following diverse team of professionals have been working on the development and implementation of the River District master plan. Service providers were engaged in August 2017 to begin the formal planning efforts.


Private Sector

David Weaver, Chair
President, Kem Krest Corporation

Bob Deputy
Bill Deputy Foundation

Pete McCown
President, Community Foundation of Elkhart County

Brian Smith
CEO, Heritage Financial Group



Crystal Welsh, City Coordination
City of Elkhart, Director of Development Services

Jamie Arce
City of Elkhart, Deputy Controller

David Henke
Common Council Member, Finance Committee Chair

Tory Itwin
City of Elkhart, Utility Engineer

Mike Machlan
City of Elkhart, City Engineer

Jeff Schaffer
City of Elkhart, Right-of-Way Engineer

Professional Services

Shelley Moore, Project Lead
President, ISC Community Development

Scott Ford, Development Senior Advisor
Executive VP, Bradley & Co,

Ken Jones, Engineering Advisor
President, Jones Petrie Rafinski

Jeff Speck, Urban Planner
Speck & Associates

David Dixon, Urban Advisor
President, Stantec

Laurie Volk, Residential Market Analyst
Partner,  Zimmerman Volk